A planned redevelopment for the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery (TMAG) will mean that visitors will be able to enjoy expanded public and education programs, travelling exhibitions and new spaces to showcase more of TMAG's collection.
The first stage of the redevelopment will bring various education programs for all ages, 12 brand new exhibitions and improved facilities and access to the Australia's "most significant collection" of Colonial buildings.
TMAG is open seven days a week from 10:00 to 17:00, closing temporarily for redevelopment on November 11 2012 at 17:00 and will be reopened again in early 2013.
TMAG director Bill Bleathman says: "We need to take this time to install new facilities and exhibitions for visitors to enjoy, while also ensuring we take the best care of our heritage buildings and the treasures in our collection."
The museum and art gallery has been at the centre of Hobart's waterfronts since 1863, housing collections of history, art and science that hold an "unique place" in Australia's cultural landscape.
TMAG's last major expansion took place in the sixties and is only able to showcase a small proportion of its collections as it has outgrown its current spaces and facilities.
The redevelopment will allow TMAG to have more than twice the current display space, with a dedicated facility for travelling exhibitions which will allow for international exhibitions to be hosted.
There is still plenty of time to visit and enjoy TMAG's exhibitions before closure, with the National Portrait Gallery's touring exhibition, Elegance in Exile, showing until November 4 and the artworks from the 2012 City of Hobart Art Prize on show until TMAG closes for redevelopment works.
The last day of opening for 2012 falls on Remembrance Day, with visitors having the opportunity to explore the Medals and Money permanent gallery and reflect on the efforts and bravery of military heroes.